Griew treble proves the difference as WCC stun title-chasing Free Church A

Mark Jackson was part of the St George's B team that overwhelmed Wellesbourne 10-0.
Mark Jackson was part of the St George's B team that overwhelmed Wellesbourne 10-0.

There was a big shock in Division One of the Leamington & District League with WCC B edging out third-placed Free Church A 6-4.

Simon Griew, who is enjoying a tremendous campaign, proved invincible, winning his singles, while Nilton Green notched a double and Martin Hunter one.

Timmy Cooper (2) and Lee Dorning (1) replied and combined for the doubles.

St George’s B took advantage to climb to third with a 10-0 pasting of Wellesbourne, Mark Jackson, Laurence Sweeney and Ron Vose the in-form trio.

Colebridge A sit three points behind leaders Rugby A after dropping just the doubles to their B team.

Kate Hughes, Mike Rinnhofer and Ben Willson snatched all the singles.

At the other end of the table, Free Church C claimed their first win when they squeezed past Nomads A 6-4. Church’s Martyn Todd took a maximum and won the doubles with Harry Purewal. Adam Cofler weighed in with two wins.

Free Church B’s two Sams, Weaving and Wiggins, saw their side home against County Council A by taking all of their singles. Chris Brewer and Phil Paine won the doubles for Council and, like Pat McCabe, took a single.

Whitnash A lead Division Two by three points after enjoying a 7-3 success over Colebridge C.

Paul Riman secured a triple, Kevin Ariss a brace and reserve Richard Smith a single as well as winning the doubles with Riman.

Mike Evetts won twice for the Brummies with Neil Wheatley adding one.

Free Church E are second after beating Eathorpe A 6-4.

Phil Blowey and Dudley Turner won two apiece, Tom Harris supplied one win and joined Blowey to win the vital doubles.

Andy Baruch notched two for the villagers.

Free Church D lie third following an 8-2 success over St George’s C. Jack Green and Anthony Smith reigned supreme in their singles and Cherry Matthews won once and took the doubles with Smith.

Phoenix O overcame Millennium A 6-4 thanks to Paul Calloway’s treble, the doubles with Roy Jardim and singles from Roy Joiner and Gordon Tucker.

In Division Three, leaders Flavels A were on the wrong side of a 7-3 scoreline at the hands of lowly Snitterfield A.

Stuart Ayres led the way with a superb hat-trick, Dave Milton posted two wins and Henry Lu added one, Ayres and Milton taking the doubles.

County Council D recorded their second successive win when defeating Millennium B 6-4. Tony Ford starred with a treble and Cliff Jackson won two, with the pair combining for the doubles.

County Council C overcame Whitnash B 7-3 despite Greg Swan’s excellent triple. Derek Harwood, Steve Poole and Ian Stevens each won twice with Poole and Stevens victorious in the doubles.

Rugby E’s Milly Bradshaw recorded a hat-trick against Free Church F but could not prevent a 6-4 defeat as their only other point came from Dave Cox.

James Robertson and Milan Sajiv claimed two wins each and Jenny Singleton recorded her first win at this level and partnered Robertson to pocket the doubles.