New site a success for Kenilworth Show

Thousands of people from across the UK visited one of Warwickshire's largest agricultural shows last weekend.

The Kenilworth Show was held at a site opposite the National Agriculture Centre in Stoneleigh after ten years at Hurst Farm in Crackley Lane.

It was the first time the show had been staged on a Saturday, having traditionally been on a Sunday.

Now in its 67th year, the event also attracted a record number of entries in its livestock competitions, with the Challenge Points Cup for overall excellence in the horse, pony, cattle and sheep classes won by Worcester farmer Percy Tait for the second year running.

Plenty of entertainments and attractions were available for visitors of all ages.

See today's Weekly News for pictures of the event.

The equestrian section used six rings, which held 50 classes of events including show jumping and carriage driving.

At the main ring crowds were wowed by the pony mounted games, the Nuneaton Dog Training Club, terrier racing, axemen, the Midland Heavy Horse Association, the Bolddog Lings Motorcycle Display Team and a parade of modern and vintage farm machinery.

Bee handling demonstrations were held throughout the day by the Warwick and Leamington Beekeepers Association.

Sheep shearing displays and an alpaca show were among the other attractions.

Penny Poulter, the show's secretary, said: "The day went tremendously well, we had good weather and a great turnout which made for a really good atmosphere throughout.

"This was the first year we held the show on a Saturday and also at the new site and we are delighted with the support we've had from all the exhibitors, our sponsors and the thousands of people who came along to enjoy the day and get a taste of what agriculture is all about.

"There was something on offer for all the family and everyone involved in organising the event are pleased the new site proved to be so popular."

The full results are as follows:



Champions: Paul and Chris Andrews, Upper Madeley Farm, Belbroughton, Stourbridge

Reserve: WW and JA McGurdie, Bondon Farm, Birdingbury, Rugby


Champion: Percy Tait, Broughton Manor, Broughton Hacket, Worcester

Reserve: CW and JM Thomas, New Farm, Wolston, Coventry

Carollias Sheep

Champions: CW and JM Thomas, New Farm, Wolston, Coventry

Reserve: CW and JM Thomas, New Farm, Wolston, Coventry

Other Continental Breeds

Champion: Percy Tait, Broughton Manor, Broughton Hacket, Worcester

Reserve: MS Keeves, Morton Pitney, Daventry

Other Native Breeds

Champions: Mr M Gray and Miss L Crowther, The Grange, Buckenhill, Herefordshire

Reserve: Jonathon Jeyes, Manor Farm, Lawford Heath, near Rugby


Other Native Breeds

Champions: Hadley Farms Ltd, Chesterton Fields Farm, Fosse Way, Leamington

Reserve: GR Fountaine, Hill Farm, Beachampton

Other Continental Breeds

Champions: Smiths of Bloxham, Newlands Farm, Bloxham, Banbury

Reserve: Smiths of Bloxham, Newlands Farm, Bloxham, Banbury

Blonde D'Aquantaine

Champions: IC ad SD Archer, Marston Hill Farm, Wolston, Coventry

Reserve: Mr GB Sewell and Partners, Meadow View Farm, Brampton, Huntingdon

Commercial Beast

Champion: A Bishop, Pitfield Farm, Eldersfield, Gloucester

Reserve: Mike Dickens, Park Hill Farm, near Horwood, Milton Keynes


Champion: Giles Green, Kibworth, Beauchamp, Leicester

Reserve: H Bush and Sons, Bridge Farm, Poole Keynes, Cirencester


Champion: Mike Shaw, Foresters Road, Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire

Reserve: Mr T Page, Sibford Heath Farm, Epwell, Banbury

Homecraft Competition Winners

Coventry Evening Telegraph Rosebowl: Helene Russell, Stratford upon Avon

L.Trietline Cup: Janet Lewis, Kenilworth

The Martin Rosebowl: Marilyn Sparkes, Coventry

Cynthia Cook Trophy: Janet Lewis, Kenilworth

McDaide Cup: Helene Russell, Stratford

Jean Sephton Cup: Susan Markham, Southam

Kenilworth Cup: Helene Russell, Stratford

Roland Powers Cup: Diana Richardson, Warwick

Egg Cup: Janet Davy, Warwick

Kenilworth Weekly News Cup: Mrs G Foster, Kenilworth, Caroline Brennan, Coventry, Sarah Lowe, Rugby

Alan Davies Bakery Trophy: Caroline Brennan, Coventry

Joyce Horncastle Novice Cup: Ryan Russell, Stratford upon Avon

Janet Lewis Award: Sarah Lyons, Warwick

Sugar Craft Cup: Sarah Lowe, Rugby

Mary Hill Trophy: Annora Johnson, Coventry

Peter Davy Trophy: Helen Foster, Southam, Sarah Lowe, Rugby

Mollie Lucas Trophy: Veronica Ward, Rugby

Joan Holmes Memorial Trophy - Kenneth Hobbins, Coventry

Kenilworth WI Rosebowl - Helene Russell, Stratford Upon Avon

Catherine Fletcher Cup - Angela Russell, Stratford upon Avon

Dorothy Potts Cup - Sheila Evans, Warwick

Tom Lucas Trophy - Joan Reeves, Kenilworth

Serck Trophy - Gayle Kirton, Warwick

Amy Lilly Cup - Andrew Hayden, Leamington Spa

The Dixon Cup - Ryan Russell, Stratford upon Avon

Kathleen Moreton Trophy - Tamzen Yates, Rugby

Young Farmers Club Trophy - Tamzen Yates, Rugby

George Bostock Trophy - Tamzen Yates, Rugby

Ivor Moreton Trophy - James Hayden, Leamington Spa

The Witney Trophy - Samantha Clarke, Rugby

Alan Briscoe Cup - Jessica Beards, Warwick