MYPs will speak out for Warwickshire’s young people

This year's Warwickshire MYPs.

This year's Warwickshire MYPs.

Have your say

Budding politicians from Warwickshire have been elected to take the views of young people to the national stage over the coming year.

Agatha Hunt and Hazeem Arif from Warwick district, Humayrah Hussein from Nuneaton and Bedworth borough and Ruell Smith from Rugby borough were elected as the county’s new Members to the UK Youth Parliament (MYPs) by more than 14,000 thirteen to 19-year-olds across Warwickshire in elections held over two weeks.

This year's VOX Warwickshire Youth Council.

This year's VOX Warwickshire Youth Council.

Their four elected deputies are Ajay Bawa from Warwick district, Glen Morgan from North Warwickshire and James Packer and Josh Ellis from Stratford district.

The new MYPs and deputies were selected out of 34 contending people. During their term of office, the youngsters will represent the views and interests of young people in their area, both locally and nationally, by meeting councillors, MPs and other decision-makers to take forward issues of local importance.

Alongside the MYP elections were this year’s elections for VOX, Warwickshire’s youth council, on which 14 young people are elected to site on to address issues of a county-wide importance. Among those to be elected were Gemma Coton and Lucy Wing from Warwick district and for Stratford District, Dani Chartrand, Rianna Barnwell and Patrick Bonsall.

The results event was chaired by the outgoing Warwickshire MYPs, including Lukas Colledge, who said: “Being an MYP has been a great experience, leading to lots of new opportunities, improving my confidence and allowing me to make a difference.

“Every one of the new politicians can learn and grow to become who they want to be and effect change around them. My advice to them would be: ‘let someone inspire you to achieve greatness – be bright, be happy, be you’.”

Hugh Disley of the county council’s targeted youth service said: “I would urge the candidates who haven’t been successful on this occasion not to give up, to take all opportunities to engage with their local communities and to continue to engage with the political process.”