DCSIMG

Church celebrates 100 years in Kenilworth

editorial image

editorial image

Kenilworth residents can delve into the colourful history of a town church as members look back on 100 years since the founding of their group in the town centre.

This month marks the milestone centenary year for Kenilworth’s Christadelphian church.

And to celebrate, members at inviting residents to their Warwick Road home to see what the group is all about, learn about worldwide charitable efforts and delve into their rich history.

One long-standing member, Neville Riley said all are welcome at an open day, and at any of the regular services and events each week.

The term Christadelphian means brothers and sisters in Christ.

The Bible-based Christian church in the town currently has around 70 members, who attend religious services two or three times a week as well as opening the building out to community groups.

The current church at 111 Warwick Road was not used by the church until the 1930s, but they were based in Kenilworth long before that time.

In the early days, members met at the home of Bro and Sis Neale - founder members of the Kenilworth ecclesia.

Meetings were held at their home, 22 The Square, from 1922 to 1928.

The large double-fronted house known as The Poplars formerly stood where the Coventry Building Society now has its branch office.

And the gardens where Sis Neale planted a herb garden - including as many biblically mentioned herbs as she could - is now the site of the Square West car park.

Later, members came from further out including Balsall Common when Bro Frank Riley joined the small ecclesia and give lifts to out of town members.

In the late 1920s, the ecclesia started to grow and a larger meeting room became a priority.

Things moved to a local chapel and settled at the hall in Warwick Road where the church has stayed.

One member spoke with Mary Hinde, the daughter of the founding couple who explained what life was like growing up in such an open household where hospitality was often stretched to the limit.

The stories will be told through church newsletters and at centenary celebrations throughout the year.

To mark the milestone, the church will be open from 10am to 4pm on Saturday April 11 when refreshments will be available. All are welcome to come along and find out more on the church and its work, or share stories dating back into its 100 year history.

Visit www.kenilworthchristadelphians.org.uk or the church for more details and information.

 

Comments

 
 

Back to the top of the page